….and so begins the adventures of new Christine in patisserie.

17 Feb

I’ve just completed my first week and am entering into my second week of Pastry School. Its been a full-on week as the practical classes normally range from 5 hour to 8 hour stretches and you’re always on your feet. So its really important to invest in some very comfortable and safe shoes. I got my first Birki Profi Clogs yesterday. I love them. I think I might even wear them out some days.

We had a class on basic kitchen skills on Wednesday – this included knife skills… which I must say… I am not quite an expert on as my little finger on the left hand will be able to tell you. It was chop.. chop.. chop… and then.. Ooooo… the carrot is bleeding. It was more embarrassing than painful, since the knife was so sharp. Lesson to be learnt: Keep your fingers tucked IN when chopping.

We learnt how to make sweet short crust pastry on Thursday which we used to make Frangipane Tarts. You should have been there to smell the aromas wafting out of the oven. It made me go a little weak in the knees. 🙂 Fingers crossed I’ll be able to replicate them in a couple of weeks for the upcoming assessment.

img_56952

img_56941img_56961img_5698

img_6395

img_5699

I have also befriended a couple of Korean girls (Yeong Eun and Elle) who are doing the course as well. They’re so lovely and funny to be around and to top it all off, its given me the opportunity to have nerdy discussions about Korean Drama serials (my other obsession) with them.

img_5692

So here’s to a year filled with sweet things and new friendships.

2 Responses to “….and so begins the adventures of new Christine in patisserie.”

  1. Pam February 24, 2009 at 1:12 PM #

    Hi Christine,
    I love this and am looking forward to more!
    love
    Pam

  2. Pam February 24, 2009 at 1:14 PM #

    When you come to america i want you to cook! Love
    Pam

Leave a Reply

