Honey Glazed BBQ Pork Ribs

2 Oct

IMG_7178

We’re in the midst of the mid semester break at the moment but with work and the restaurant, I feel like I’m sitting on a life size catapult with rocket engines attached to the back. In a blink of an eye, the 2 week break will come to an end and I’ll have school to juggle with as well. Wish I was on some African Safari or somewhere in Canada trekking through the woods avoiding grizzlies or even with J&D discovering South America for 3 months… that would be nice.

I did manage to get a couple of days to myself where I pottered around the garden and pointed out the knee high/flowering weeds to Jason. We have placed the weeding into the “too hard to handle basket” for now – at least till we get some Roundup.

I also got to go on a long awaited excursion to Costco with YE (who is a member) to experience “excessive-consumption” in all it’s grandeur. I was very excited! When we arrived, we were greeted by “security” who asked us for our membership cards. YE flashes her card and says, “She’s with me,” and they wave us through. It was probably part of their marketing ploy but they are very clever in making it feel exclusive – Members only. Despite previously obtaining a major in marketing and hereby acknowledging that it is Costco’s marketing strategy…. I was sucked in nevertheless and got myself a membership card a week later.

I wouldn’t say that the groceries were particularly cheap at Costco but what sucked me in was a variety of stuff that you could not find in the supermarket. I bought a gallon of teriyaki sauce, very attractive Kalamata olives… also sold by the gallons… dried blueberries… an good supply of Spam (I love Spam),a sack of onions, a fresh barramundi and 1/2 the ribcage of a pig (pork spareribs). I cooked the ribs for dinner that night on the barbie and I must say I was very impressed by the copious amounts of meat on each rib. We only had about 3 ribs each but they were so succulent and meaty… we were stuffed after dinner.

*Note to self – Will definitely be going back to Costco for pork spare ribs again.*

Here’s the recipe for the marinade I used:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tablespoon brown vinegar
  • 1 small fresh red chilli, chopped
  • generous squirt of tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed

Method:

  1. Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl, place the ribs in the marinade and massage throughly. Leave overnight or for at least 2-3 hours.
  2. Cook the ribs on the barbie.
  3. Place the remaining marinade in a saucepan and reduce to a thick sauce.
  4. Pour the sauce over the ribs and serve with a salad.
2 Responses to “Honey Glazed BBQ Pork Ribs”

  1. CLARISSA October 3, 2009 at 3:11 PM #

    O.O Jie Jie! The pork ribs looks so yummy! I want to eat now. I can’t wait to come! Another 1 more week till my tests end. WOOHOO! <3<3<3

  2. Pam October 5, 2009 at 2:01 PM #

    I love ribs………..wow! These look awesom3!
    Love
    Pam

Leave a Reply

