Blueberry and Lemon Teacakes

14 Oct

IMG_7238

Forgive me if I tend to waffle on a little. I’m at the school library, in between classes writing this entry. Because this library is one of the more easy going establishments that allows its students to eat while they surf the net, I sit here, copping whiffs of nauseating egg salad and coleslaw ordours in the face. I wonder if egg salad consuming girl will peek over and realise people are writing about her in their blogs….

Last Sunday, I had a little “me” time in the kitchen. I attempted sorting out the recipe book collection above the fridge – there’re just so many of them now. I used to be amazed, though envious at the same time, at the insane number of recipe books Linda has – so many that she had to migrate them from the kitchen to the study. It seems like I am shuffling towards that direction a little. Everytime I go to a bookshop, I seem to gravitate towards the cookery book section. It has become a bit of an obsession.

Amidst finding new shelf space for my growing number of cookbooks, I made these blueberry and lemon teacakes. The littlier ones tasted better than the larger ones. I guess its because there was more crusty surface areas on the smaller teacakes. The recipe that I used from Helen of Tartlette called for sourcream but as I didn’t have any in the fridge, I substituted it with cream cheese instead. They turned out pretty well.

IMG_7240

Recipe adapted from Helen of Tartlette and lemonpi

Ingredients:

  • 67g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 56.5grams butter, melted and cooled
  • 58grams cream cheese
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 62.5grams all purpose flour
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • dried blueberries (soaked in rum overnight)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175C.
  2. Whisk together the eggs and sugar until pale and thick, about 2-3 minutes.
  3. Soften the cream cheese with your hands and mix in with the butter.
  4. Add the butter, cream cheese and lemon zest to the egg and sugar mixture.
  5. Whisk well and gently stir in the flour.
  6. Spray your chosen moulds with cooking spray and divide the mixture evenly.
  7. Press desired number of dried blueberries into the mixture.
  8. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown.
  9. Let cool on wire racks.
  10. Dust with icing sugar.
One Response to “Blueberry and Lemon Teacakes”

  1. lailablogs October 14, 2009 at 10:54 PM #

    Sounds and looks really delicious ..
    Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

Leave a Reply

