Daring Baker’s Challenge December 2009 – Gingerbread House

24 Dec

The happiest time of the year is here again – you may say its cliché… But I think it’s mostly true. The people I have interacted with in the last week have been bouncier, lovelier and friendlier than they’ve been all year. There’s like this happy vibe spreading through the universe (well most of it anyway) at the moment.

The last week has been a pretty big week in terms of celebrations – too much food and too much drink – the mouth says “Yes Please!!” but the tummy says “STOP Please!!” The Christmas party we had for work was an example of indulging in excess. Though some of us would like to forget that that day ever happened, or even better still, pretend that we were ever at that party at all (you know who you are), these are the memories that remind us that there is still a little bit of fun and cheek in all of us.

In many ways, my Christmases have evolved a great deal in the last 5 years – However, I have enjoyed the festivities nevertheless. I look back on the past decade (GAWD I’m feeling old!) and am amazed how my life has changed in so many ways. I wonder what the next 5 years will bring.

This month’s Daring Baker’s Challenge was to make a Gingerbread house. It took me 3 evenings to complete (though I would’ve finished alot quicker if my lolly supply wasn’t continuously hijacked!!) but I enjoyed making the house immensely. It’s entitled -“The Gnomes Christmas.” Merry Christmas flog readers!!

Picture 1: The Gnomes gingerbread house

Picture 2: Gingerbread house from the side (with stained glass windows and edible plants)

Picture 3: Close up – Gus riding his tractor

Picture 4: Close up – Marko and Licorice, the Googly eyed cat

Picture 4: Close up – Licorice, the Googly eyed cat

4 Responses to “Daring Baker’s Challenge December 2009 – Gingerbread House”

  1. wic December 29, 2009 at 12:31 AM #

    I think I am in love with your little house or maybe just with the gnomes.
    amazing and stunning looking answer to this challenge.

  2. anna December 29, 2009 at 11:31 AM #

    Haha I love Licorice the googly-eyed cat! Your house is SO CUTE and the gnomes rock! Great job!

  3. Pam December 30, 2009 at 10:47 AM #

    I love these…….can’t wait to show my grandkids……..Merry CHristmas to you and Jason!
    love
    Pam and family

  4. Pam December 30, 2009 at 11:07 AM #

    Oops! Forgot to ask you if you saw the movie Julie and Julie?

Leave a Reply

