Celebratory Chocolate Mud with chocolate collar

10 Sep

Firstly… I have to say how sorry I am for MIA for the last 1/2 of the year. It’s kindda sad for me to see the same old post over and over everytime I log on… but I have a VALID reason. I’ve had a little peanut growing inside of me since March this year… and of course, there were bathroom renovations as well.

I’m thinking it’s not the size of a little peanut anymore since I can feel it tickle my insides (when its gentle) and then occasionally send me dashing madly to the ladies as it thumps on my bladder.This whole experience of growing a little human being has been rather surreal but at 29 weeks, I’m making alot more of a connection with it and am getting quite excited to meet it for the very first time. I won’t deny that the thought of labour and birth is scary as hell… but Doug has said to me, “You’ll pop it out like a pea from a pod.” I’m hoping he’s right.

My first trimester was a bit of an unpleasant ride. The smell of food cooking over the stove and especially of golden croissants and danishes baking in the oven at the patisserie I was working at was enough to make me green and screaming down the toilet bowl. Hence, my desire to cook or bake over the last 6 months dwindled significantly. However! I’m feeling quite awesome now and since it’s Rob’s 30th… I figured that there’s no better reason than to start baking again.

This is the Celebratory Chocolate mudcake with a little chocolate collar that I made. Happy Birthday Rob!!

Oh.. and there was extra chocolate mud mixture so I made a little lovecake for Jaso-maso.

The recipe is from Dean Brettschneider’s “Global Baker.” I used raspberry infusion tea instead of frozen raspberries. Enjoy!

Ingredients for the cake:

  • 280ml hot water
  • 2 fruit flavored tea bags (I used raspberry infusions)
  • 210grams softened unsalted butter
  • 150grams caster sugar
  • 25 grams cocoa powder
  • 250 grams of 70%cocoa dark chocolate (chopped into tiny pieces)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 175 grams plain flour
  • 15 grams baking powder
Ingredients for the chocolate ganache:
  • 200 grams of thickened cream
  • 150 grams dark chocolate (broken into pieces)
Ingredients for the chocolate collar and other decorations:
  • 250 grams of compound dark chocolate (if you use couveture, you need to temper the chocolate)
  • 1 punnet fresh strawberries
  • some grapes or other fresh berries if they are in season
Method:
  1. Preheat the oven to 150 degree celsius.
  2. Line the base and sides of a 50cm loose bottom cake tin with baking paper
  3. Place water in a small sauce pan and bring to boil.
  4. Remove from heat and add your raspberry tea bags.
  5. Add the butter and let it melt.
  6. Place sugar, cocoa and chocolate pieces in a bowl of an electric mixer. *make sure the choc pieces are really small other while the mixture will be lumpy.
  7. Add the hot water mixture and whisk at medium speed till smooth.
  8. Sieve the flour and baking powder several times and add to the electric mixer, mixing at low speed till mixture is smooth (do not overmix!)
  9. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin/tins.
  10. Bake for 1 hour 30 minutes and skewer comes out clean.
  11. Remove cake from oven and cool in tin for 30 minutes.
  12. Remove from cake tin and cool on a wire rack.
  13. Using a bread knife, cut off the top of the cake to give it a flat surface.
  14. For the ganache, place the thickened cream in a small sauce pan and bring it to a gentle simmer.
  15. Turn off the heat and add the dark chocolate and stir till you get a smooth consistency.
  16. Leave to cool for a while, allowing the ganache to thicken to a thicker consistency.
  17. When the texture of the ganache is right, place a plate under the wire rack of the cale and pour the ganache over the cake, coating all sides.
  18. Using 2 cranked palette knife, carefully lift the cake and place it on a large flat plate to prepare for decorating.
  19. For decorating, get a long sheet of baking paper that fits around the outside of the cake and is 2cm higher than the top of the cake.
  20. Lay the baking paper flat on a bench.
  21. Melt the chocolate for the chocolate collar over a hot saucepan of water.
  22. Using a palette knife, spread an even layer of chocolate over the baking paper.
  23. Lift off the table and give it a few knocks to even out the texture.
  24. When the chocolate is almost set, lift it up and carefully wrap it around the outside of the cake, pinching the chocolate at the ends to make a perfect rounded collar.
  25. Leave the collar to set for a little more and carefully remove the baking paper.
  26. Pile the fresh fruit inside the collar .
  27. DONE!
Leave a Reply

