Mango Sticky Rice

20 Oct

I’m 39 days away from my expected due date *sound of doom*

Saying that I’m starting to get scared is a bit of an understatement. Who would have thought we would be down to just 2 digits! Let alone 2 digits less than 50 days. But I guess bubba’s got to come out eventually.

The last couple of weeks have mainly consisted of cooking alot of extra meals to freeze so we don’t die of starvation when the baby comes, spending alot of money on baby stuff and then spending even more money on nursing bras. Everything baby related costs about an arm and a leg… and maybe a good functioing kidney as well.

(But Oooo… look at the how cute these cloth nappies are. Not sure why I got the neon coloured ones though… Hmmm..)

Last Saturday, we took some time out from “crazy baby preparation zone” and went out for brunch with a group of our old friends. 2 of which were in the same predicament as I… 1 of which is just days away from *sound of doom*…. which reminds me… I should probably ring to see how she’s going.

I’m back to work 5 days a week as opposed to previously doing just 4 days, for the remaining duration of my time here before I go on maternity leave. It hasn’t been TOO bad but the extra day at work has made me a splash of tired and a big dash of cranky. I went to bed at the record time of 8.30pm last night but not before craving some mango sticky rice and watching a few episodes of True Blood Season 3.

When we were travelling in Thailand, we were fortunate enough to give our tastebuds the pleasure and adventure that Thai cuisine brings. My all time favorite dessert with every meal we had in Thailand was Mango Sticky Rice. The Thais call it “Khao Neeo Mamuang.” This dish is easy to make and very delicious. One of the locals at the hawker joint saw how much I adored the dessert and kindly gave me the recipe for “Khao Neeo Mamuang.” I did not understand the proportions very well but upon trial and error, this is the recipe that I’ve come up with. I reckon it comes pretty close. With sweet mangoes coming into season, this is a really nice way to enjoy them.

This receipe served 3 portions

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of stiky / glutinous rice (can be found in most Asian grocers)
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 200ml Coconut milk (I used light and creamy evaporated milk flavoured with coconut)
  • 60 grams caster sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 ripe mango

Method:

  1. Wash the glutinous rice with tap water, drain, and place the rice in a rice cooker. Add 1.5 cups of water to the rice cooker and steam the rice.
  2. In the mean time, place the coconut milk in a small pot and heat on low to medium heat. Do not allow the coconut milk to come to a boil as this will make it curdle. When the milk is hot enough, add the sugar and salt and stir till all the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Peel the mango and slice it up nicely, however you like.
  4. When the glutinous rice is ready, pour 3/4 of the coconut milk mixture onto the rice and allow the rice to slowly absorb the mixture.
  5. Use a spatula to mix the coconut milk mixture into the rice if neccesary.
  6. To serve, flatten the rice into a small bowl and turn it out onto a serving plate / bowl.
  7. Arrange the mango on top of the rice and spoon some of the remaining coconut milk mixture on the top.
Leave a Reply

