Golden Waffles

10 Nov

Friday was my last day of work which makes it now 20 days away from my anticipated due date. I’m thinking – the next time I step back into that office, I will be a dedicated, full-fletched mother of a little person under the age of 1, juggling both work and little human being. In reality, I’m not very good at juggling. (According to mom, I could not catch a ball till I was 10.) The imagery of me as a mother remains surreal, almost airy and non-fictional. However, I am pretty sure that when it finally happens, it will set in like concrete.

Jason made me these beautiful golden waffles for breakfast last weekend. He said it officially marks the last weekend we will be alone for a while, as mom arrives on Saturday and sprog arrives soon after. The first time I had these waffles, I felt sweet golden warmth and happiness radiate through my belly down to my twinkles. This is an American waffle recipe passed on from Jason’s mom to him. They are really quite amazing. We had them with salty butter, fresh fruit, maple syrup and raspberry yoghurt.

(Makes 15 waffles)

Ingredients for the waffle batter:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp caster sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 cups self raising flour
  • 2tbsp cornflour
  • 4 tbsp melted butter

Method

1. Separate the eggs. Beat egg yolks and sugar together with a whisk, then add the milk, water and vanilla and beat again.

2. Add the sifted dry ingredients and mix well.

3. Mix in the melted butter.

4. Beat the egg whites till stiff and fold into the mixture.

5. Allow the batter to stnad for 20 minutes before spooning into a hot, greased waffle maker.

6. Serve with fresh fruits, maple syrup, cream or yogurt. The world is your oyster.

One Response to “Golden Waffles”

  1. Jo November 14, 2010 at 2:34 AM #

    These waffles are indeed glorious! I remember Jason making them the last time I was there. 20 days, this is crazy! Have courage! Looking forward to meeting the little one and seeing you soon. Enjoy your time with the family, it is so comforting to have support when you most need it. All my good wishes and thoughts with you love! xxx

Leave a Reply

