Pear and Walnut Loaf

14 Nov

A good lesson for all expectant moms who are in their 3rd and final trimester is to remember – sprog and stomache are in competition for space, do not overeat as sprog always WINS!

scroll right down for a scrumptious Pear and Walnut loaf recipe.*

So the story begins as such. My last week at work has not been like any other week. It has in fact, been a bit of a party week – with elaborate lunches, random treats from very lovely people and delicious morning teas. Everyone in the department have been really lovely with putting the time and thought into the baby gifts and well wishes they’ve given me.

On Wednesday, my boss took me and a bunch of colleagues out to the pub for a “good luck, farewell, we’ll see you in 9 months” lunch. In my current state, I have the appetite of a small whale (I’m being modest). I had a serve of wedges supreme (i.e wedges covered in melted cheese and bacon served with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce on the side), a fish main course, apple crumble with ice-cream and the works as well as a decaf latte.

Swearing to myself that I would not have dinner that night, I went home and snacked on half a can of Pringles, BBQ rice crackers, a bag of honey snacks, and some pistachio nuts. After which, I told Jason I felt like a batch of hot waffles (the very same ones he made me on Saturday) which I had with ice-cream, maple syrup and fruit. My last and final snack for the night were 2 pieces of Turkish delight that Uncle P. brought back from Istanbul.

At 1am exactly, I woke up with a terrible pain in my belly. I lay in bed for 10 minutes, praying that the pain would go away and that this was not me having the baby. 10 minutes later, I shook the hub-ster awake and told him, that I thought I was about to have the baby. He shot out of bed like a spring and fumbled for the lights. The next 20 minutes involved me screaming into the toilet bowl and having explosive you know what (paint ball style…). I did not have the baby. My sorry plight was purely the result of self inflicted gluttony with no one to blame of course, but myself.

On a less unpleasant note, Fi however did have her baby… not on the same night as I had my episode but a week earlier. She had a gorgeous little boy, cute as a button. I made a Pear and Walnut Loaf to take over to their house, just to give them a little boost that they would need to take care of their new addition. Congratulations guys! We can’t wait to meet little Leon again.

This recipe is adapted from Stephanie Alexander’s “The cook’s companion” – simple banana bread recipe (I substituted the bananas with pears)

(Makes 1 loaf)

Ingredients for the loaf:

  • 125g softened unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ripe pears peeled, cored and cut into cubes
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 250g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp all spice
  • 1/2 cup milk with 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 150g chopped walnuts

Ingredients for the walnut and brown sugar topping:

  • 3 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 3 tbsp self raising flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 100g soften butter
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar

Method:

  1. Grease and flour a loaf tin (24cm x 15cm x 8cm) and line with baking paper.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  3. Cream the butter and sugar in an electric mixer until light and fluffy and slowly beat in the eggs and vanilla.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients and add to the mixture alternating with the milk mixture.
  5. Fold through the pears and walnuts into the mixture and pour mixture into the lined loaf tin.
  6. Combine all the ingredients for the walnut and brown sugar topping and scatter evenly over the top of the loaf mixture.
  7. Bake in the oven for 1 hour 20-30 minutes (or until a fine skewer comes out clean).
  8. Cool the cake completely in its tin and then turn out onto a wire.
One Response to “Pear and Walnut Loaf”

  1. TheSignChef June 17, 2011 at 2:35 AM #

    This recipe looks so good. I wouldn’t have guessed pears and walnuts would go well together. Apples and walnut go well together, I guess pears would be even better. Mmm…this would go SO well with coffee.

    Thanks for the recipe. It looks like a must try 😀

Leave a Reply

